Lightdash Community

Introduce yourself 👋

Hi! :wave:

If you’re new to the Lightdash community, welcome :blush:

I’m Katie, one of the cofounders of Lightdash. Feel free to send me a message if there’s anything I can help you with!

Here’s a little bit about me:

I’m from Canada, but right now, I’m living out my best work-life balance in the mountains of Chamonix.

I love everything product data, a good dad joke, and I’m a sucker for amazing data visualizations (my favourite book is Information is Beautiful - yes, I’m that predictable).

Now it’s your turn :slight_smile: Tell us a little bit about yourself, and what you’re into.

1 Like

Hi, I am Fabrice, a French software data engineer, currently lead dev at maif-vie, a life insurance company based in Niort (west coast, cannot see Mont Blanc mountain from my office…). I have been using dbt since early 2018 (there were no sources yet), and really glad to see a whole ecosystem rising around dbt schema annotations. Thank you for providing us with lightdash, you are standing on giant’s shoulders !
And I am also trying to maintain the dbt adapter for dremio.

2 Likes

Hey everyone,

@fabrice.etanchaud welcome to you especially. Great to have a dbt veteran here.

I’m Oliver, one of the cofounders of Lightdash. I live out in rural Oxfordshire in the UK after retreating from London. If you’re a Lord of the Rings fan, it’s about as close as you get to The Shire.

If you raise an issue on GitHub, you’re likely to hear from me first!

I was once a physicist (after a PhD in magnetism I still don’t know how magnets work) then a data scientist and now a little bit of everything. That’s one thing I love about working on Lightdash, it crosses over so many technical domains and that makes it a lot of fun to work on!

Great to meet you, Oliver !
It’s a small world. I had a master of Mathematics in a past life…
I can understand why we both love dbt : dbt is like a theory perfectly matching reality, at the right level of abstraction.